Guess What? Different Body Types Exist

I need to get something off my chest about a topic I’ve been thinking about for months.

Now, before I do that, I need you all to know that I am not fat. I’m not fat, I’m not skinny, I’ve got a pretty “normal” body type and I’m about 170 cm tall, which is the average height for women in this country. I’ve got curves (which is a word that I dislike but it’s the easiest way for you to know what I’m talking about), but other than that, there’s nothing about me that could make shopping for clothes as hard as it is.

Because it is. I don’t like shopping, never have, probably never will, because firstly, I feel anxious quite quickly in an environment with a lot of people and a lot of walking around, but that’s just something personal, and secondly, because most things I try on don’t fit me (nicely).

When I try to shop online, I usually go for baggy or one-sized stuff because I know that anything else, I’ll have to try on before buying it, because there’s a 95% chance that it just will not look good on me. And that’s what bothers me.

When you look at websites that sell clothes online, most of the time, the models are skinny, tall people. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with that body type, but let’s be real, how many people actually look like that? I just feel like clothes, especially on websites like H&M and Forever 21, were designed with that specific body type in mind, even though there are SO MANY body types out there. I feel bad about myself when things don’t fit me or don’t look right on me, even though I’m a perfectly normal weight and don’t have anything to worry about. I want to embrace my curves (sigh), and not wish they were gone because clothes these days weren’t designed for the way I look. I want to shop online and see models who actually show me what a certain top or pair of jeans would look like on me, and not on models who are 20 cm taller and 2 sizes smaller than me.

I just feel like, nowadays, in 2017, this issue should be solved.

Leave a Reply

