Tea Wisdom

I got a new kind of tea recently, which is a sentence you’ll hear me say at least once a week if you’re friends with me. It’s a rose-flavoured tea from the brand Yogi, it tastes incredible, but my favourite part about it might be the quotes it has on its labels.

“The purpose of life is to enjoy every moment.”

I feel like that sentence is exactly what no one believes in anymore these days. My dad often tells me that obviously I should enjoy life, but I should put school first. Getting a degree is the most important thing right now, he says, and you can have fun afterwards. I get that, I know that everything is easier with a degree and I definitely want to graduate, but I don’t think I should put my happiness on hold for it. School has stressed me out so much, and has made me feel so anxious and unhappy, and what if I get into an accident tomorrow and break my neck and either never move again or die? I would’ve spent (the good part of) my life feeling like shit.

I KNOW that I need to focus on school, especially now that it’s almost over, but I’m finding it so hard to do as there are so many other things I’d rather be doing. I’ve been trying for months to put my happiness and mental health first, and this just feels like a setback. It’s disappointing, but there’s nothing I can really do about it, I suppose.

xxx

Leave a Reply

